The Derby Daredevils

Kenzie Kickstarts a Team

Praise

oie_transparent-3_edited.png

"A great pick about fierce young ladies coming together through sports. Memorable characters and frequent illustrations bring the story to life and will make anyone want to get their derby on."

-Booklist STARRED review

"A great addition to juvenile sports fiction for school and public libraries. Perfect for fans of Victoria Jamieson’s ROLLER GIRL, and readers seeking stories about sports-loving girls supporting each other."

-School Library Journal STARRED review

"This relatable, empathic series debut introduces readers to the fast-paced sport of roller derby and hints at interesting backstories for Kenzie's teammates [...] likely setting up plenty of challenges for this underdog team to overcome in future installments."

-Publishers Weekly review

"The derby scenes are fast-paced and fun to read, with clearly explained rules.

A lighthearted celebration of life, friendship, and rolling with the punches."

-Kirkus review

" Great for fans of highly-illustrated series like CLEMENTINE or THE MAJOR EIGHTS who’ve outgrown these titles and are looking for the next step up, as well as readers who loved Victoria Jamieson’s ROLLER GIRL. Highly recommended.."

-American Library Association

"Rosewater's charming, lighthearted debut brims with the unexpected joys and pains of friendship. Its quirky cast of friends and family shows us that a great team draws strength from its diversity and never gives up on each other."

-Whitney Gardner, author of FAKE BLOOD

"Fun, fast-paced and empowering. This high-interest, relatable novel is sure to spark many kids' interest in roller derby and reading alike!"

-Laurie Morrison, author of UP FOR AIR

oie_transparent-3_edited.png

Out now!

indiebound.jpg
Screen Shot 2019-11-07 at 5.36.13 PM.png
bandn.jpg
amazon_edited.jpg
abrams.jpg

 

Illustrated by Sophie Escabasse

Published through Amulet Books

  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle

Illustrated and designed by Danika Corrall